1 2
DILYSI Dave
DILYSI Dave MegaDork
11/3/23 1:16 p.m.

A build thread is forthcoming, but the background is that I have an L92 from a 2007 Yukon Denali that I'm putting in my S197 Mustang.  Car will primarily be an autox / hillclimb / TT car, but will stay tagged just cause.  Phase 1 of the motor build will be as little as possible while I get the other variables nailed down.  Clean it up, re-gasket it, and replace anything that is too ugly upon teardown.  Long term it will get built with a compression bump and some additional RPM headroom.  Still figuring out if I want to go with a VVT cam or eliminate that and go with something LS3 based, and still deciding if that happens now or later.  I think I prefer to keep the VVT though seeing how flat some of the graphs I'm seeing are.  

Initial plan was to just go aftermarket standalone.  I've got some experience with that and I like the elegance of it.  That said, reading some threads here, reading through LT1swap.com, etc has me contemplating weeding the original harness and running it off of the original (E38) ECM.  I do like how robust OEM components are compared to most of the aftermarket, so that's a consideration.  If I can save a few bucks, all the better, but that's less of a concern.  That all said, I'm drowning a bit in OEM acronyms, figuring out which variation of ECM I have (2007 being a bit of a weird year it seems), what that is and isn't capable of, etc. 

I'm also not sure what exists as far as tuning options if I keep the original ECM.  For standalone, I know how things work.  And for mostly original cars I know there is OBD port flashing and such.  I think maybe HP tuners has the ability to do legit tuning on the original hardware, but it's not entirely clear.  And is that a thing I buy, or that I need a shop that speaks that language, etc?  Tell it to me like I'm 5.  ;)

Any other wisdom / input is appreciated.

Keith Tanner
Keith Tanner MegaDork
11/3/23 1:23 p.m.