1 2
Strike_Zero
Strike_Zero SuperDork
8/2/15 11:08 p.m.

I'm studying to sit for the PMP in October. Any particular methods(s) and/or suggestions to help in prep for the exam?

I have the usual:

• PMBOK
  • Flash cards
  • Rita Mulcahy stuff
  • Skillsoft CBTs

I've been told by several peeps, thus far, to think like the PMBOK is written. Any additional assistance would be much appreciated.

bmw88rider
bmw88rider Dork
8/3/15 6:20 a.m.

Study groups. Get with peers. I learned a lot just going to the local chapter mixers and talking with the other members.

There are also the PMP boot camps that work well too. I'm doing that. I have it scheduled the week before I am to take the test.

T.J.
T.J. UltimaDork
8/3/15 6:30 a.m.

For some reason when I read the thread title, I thought this was going to be about Parallel Motion Protractors.

Then I saw PMBOK and knew I was way off base. Good luck on the test.

RossD
RossD PowerDork
8/3/15 7:56 a.m.

I did the week long class to get ready for the test but didn't take the test. (Some leadership training stuff... )

The one thing that I remember was to throw out what you know and replace it with what the PMBOK tells you. And for situational questions: don't blame, just take action. Always take action.

travellering
travellering Reader
8/3/15 8:39 a.m.

That's better than my misreading. I added an I..... seriously wondering what a thread about 70s Cadillacs was doing on GRM...

914Driver
914Driver MegaDork
8/3/15 8:42 a.m.

I can't help, I have no idea the subject.

In aircraft articles they use acronyms all the time assuming you know what it means. Writing Tech Manuals for the Army, I used the words the first time the reader saw it, but acronyms thereafter.

What's PMP? Or did you drop an i ?

RossD
RossD PowerDork
8/3/15 8:43 a.m.

Project Manager Professional, IIRC.

Appleseed
Appleseed MegaDork
8/3/15 9:01 a.m.

I was about to say start watching Superfly, Dolamite, and the Mack.

Anyway, good luck.

dj06482
dj06482 SuperDork